Welcome to Islwyn Running Club Website
Croeso i Wefan Clwb Rhedeg Islwyn
The Valleys  Friendly Running Club                            See us on  

Summer training routes here 24th March
Club kit here
1st April
Club championship 2015 (so far) here 14th July New!
GLCL Caerleon road race results here 19th July New!
Race results here
21st July NEW!
Upcoming Events
22/07/2015 SSAFA 5K Series Blackweir tavern, Cardiff @ 7:00 p.m.
26/07/2015 Magor Marsh 10K Undy FC, Magor, Caldicot @ 10:30 a.m.
26/07/2015 Monmouth Challenge Run Monmouth School Sports centre, Monmouth @ 11:00 a.m.
28/07/2015 GLCL Islwyn Road Race Parc Penallta, Hengoed, CF82 7PG @ 7:30 p.m.
30/07/2015 Cardiac 6 Mile Challenge Lamb & Fox Pub, Pwll Du, Blaenafon, NP4 9SS @ 7:00 p.m.
01/08/2015 Welsh 5K Road Race Championships Parc Bryn Bach, Tredegar, NP22 3AY @ 5:30 p.m. onwards.
Weekly Parkruns - Saturday 9am
The Blade Runner!
...has been and gone (until next year), results are here!

X/C Category Winners
The presentation to acknowledge and reward the winners and runners up of the 2014/5 X/C series took place after the first GLCL road race of the season at Parc Bryn Bach. IRC were well represented in the X/C series:
Robert Davies (jnr) 1st M40-44
Glyn Hicks 2nd M65-69
Islwyn men 5th overall in the series.
Kelly Wall 2nd F17-39
Islwyn women 6th overall in the series.
Well done all!

Out and About With IRC...
Lapping the lake up in Parc Bryn Bach:
Braving the breeze down in Llanelli:

IRC Annual Awards 2014
The evening of Friday 30th January saw Islwyn Running Club hold their 2014 awards evening at the New Forge in Oakdale, smashing last year's attendance with over 70 guests.
Male club champion was Chris Lloyd, Female club champion was Julie Lewis.
Most improved male athlete was Aidan Davies, most improved female athlete was Sara Arnold.
Outstanding Achievement Awards were presented to Russell Dobbs and Sean Birch for each completing 100 marathons.
There were 10 year club awards presented to Blair Lundie and Kate Bennett.

Thanks were expressed to Coleen Birch for organising the evening. A good time was had by all!

Summer GLCL 2015 Road Race Series

For those who don't enjoy getting muddy, don't worry, the summer road race series will be upon us before we know it. The dates for your diaries are:

Tuesday 19th May 2015 - Parc Bryn Bach Running Club (Parc Bryn Bach, NP22 3AY, includes presentation for GLCL X/C series).
Tuesday 16th June 2015 - Spirit of Monmouth Running Club (Trellech, NP25 4PA).
Tuesday 7th July 2015 - Caerleon Running Club (Llanhennock, NP18 1LT).
Tuesday 28th July 2015 - Islwyn Running Club (Parc Penallta, CF82 7PG).
Tuesday 18th August - Chepstow Harriers (Chepstow Leisure Centre, NP16 5LX).
All races start at 7:30 p.m. Once again please make every effort to support your club and attend at least one of the above. The races are great for those who like to tear up the tarmac and are a good opportunity to mingle with your team mates!

About Us
We're a friendly running club formed in 1983 based in Caerphilly County Borough whose H.Q. is Pontllanfraith Leisure Centre. The club meets
every Tues. & Thurs. at 6.15.
All abilities welcome.
For more info contact:-
Mike Heare on  01495 245430 
 At Parc Bryn Bach Leisure Centre League 2015